Goal #1

Yesterday was my birthday. I am now 32 years young 🙂 We had such as awesome day. I will post about it later in the week 🙂 Tonight I wanted to start my goal making progress for this year. I will be posting each goal separately as I carefully select what goals I will be working on this year and develop a plan using the SMART goal method.

Specific:

The first up is to run my first 5K. Not just any 5K, The Color Run 5K. I have wanted to do it ever since I found out about it’s existence last year.  I used to run all the time. It’s the only time in my life that I was able to lose weight. I actually enjoy running…a lot… it’s just once you stop doing it… it takes time to get back to where you were. I have been wanting to start back up for a while and have kept failing because I didn’t have a strong enough goal to aim for. The Color Run is just the thing.

Measurable:

I found this great program to prepare for the race on Pinterest. This will help me monitor my progress in the weeks before the race. While it’s still cold outside I am going to start adding cardio by doing the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, which I have done in the past and can testify works well. Once the weather warms up I can start the running program below.

Color Run program

Attainable:

I have never run a 5K before…and sadly I haven’t run in a few years…but I’m hoping that having a specific goal will motivate me to start back up again. It will be a challenge, but I have faith in my abilities to get this done.

Relevant:

I would definitely say this goal is relevant to my overall goal of improving my health. As I get older it is getting harder to ignore the importance improving my health and well-being.

Timely:

The Color Run 5K is planned for June 2013. The don’t have a specific date yet, but I subscribed to their email list and will have a date soon.

 

Update: I learned earlier this week that the Color Run is the exact same day as Parade the Circle. Which I am in. So unfortunately this year I will not be able to participate in the Color Run. However, I still plan on following the training schedule above and I am hoping to have my first 5k be the Cleveland Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning. 🙂

One thought on “Goal #1

Leave a Reply

