Sunday Inspirationals: Neil Gaiman

I decided to start a new feature on the blog called Sunday Inspirationals. Each week I will chronicle one person who inspires me. A couple years ago I did a blog that contained a list of people who inspired me, it was titled Inspiration Nation 2010. What I found by doing that post was that the people who inspire me change through out the year and by the end of 2010 some of the people had fallen off my list. And that of course is fine. If you end a year with the exact same opinions, knowledge,  and emotions then you are not doing things right. So… that is what has brought us here. To this weekly feature. The first person up? Neil Gaiman

I decided to start with Neil Gaiman because his New Years quote was pretty inspiring. Since he was the first person to inspire me in 2012, he wins the first slot.

Who he is:

Neil Gaiman is an award winning British author of novels, short stories, comic books, graphic novels and films. He writes for readers of all ages. Some of his more well known titles are American Gods, Neverwhere, Coraline, The Sandman, and The Graveyard Book. He currently lives in the U.S. somewhere close to Minneapolis (though he seems to always be traveling) and he is married to the equally talented and sexy, Amanda Palmer. They are by far my favorite famous couple.

Why he made the list.

Up till a few years ago I didn’t know who Neil Gaiman was. One day the Hub mentioned he was coming to speak at the Cleveland Library and suggested that we attend. Lady Linzi insisted upon it. I am always game for adventures, so we went. We waited in a long line and got really good seats. I don’t think it even took 5 minutes before I professed my love. Because well…first of all,  Mr. Gaiman is dreamy, but even if he wasn’t he’d still be pretty fucking rad. He read some of his stuff that day and then he stayed until everyone who wanted an autograph received one, which was pretty much everyone. I was so happy we went.

I hate to admit I am not the biggest reader. Not because I don’t enjoy it. I just never make time for it like other people do…I’m working on this… but I have read a couple of his things and I find his stories are very compelling. They are somehow both at once sweet and eerie. which leaves you with a very energized feeling…not sure exactly how to explain it. You just like you witnessed something special.

He also is big in social media. He tweets a lot and responses to fans which I find endearing. A couple weeks ago we went to a play at Cleveland Public Theatre. It was part of their Big Box series. It was “October in the Chair” which was an adaptation of a Neil Gaiman short story. It was a great piece.  So HOW awesome is Neil Gaiman? In true Neil Gaiman form, he tweeted about it!

This man is insanely talented, but what makes him so inspirational is that encourages others to share their talents.

Read his blog here

Follow him on Twitter

Leave a Reply

