An Unofficial Martini Monday: The Blood Orange Manhattan from Melt

This evening the hub and I had a date night. We saw Tinker, Tailor, Solider, Spy at the Cedar Lee (a local art movie house in Cleveland Heights). I liked it… but it lacked a certain urgency that is essential to a good spy flick… I think it was because it was British….but I digress! After the movie we went over to Melt Bar & Grill for dinner. Since I knew I’d be getting home late I decided to get Melt’s drink of the month and report on what I though and post the recipe so you can try one for yourself…though if you’re in  the Cleveland area you can go get one for yourself at Melt. I am not a fan of the taste of a Manhattan, but I have a soft spot in my heart for them because they were my grandma’s drink of choice. The first time I ever had one was after her funeral. Let me tell ya I was very disappointed. I had hoped I’d like it. So why did I order this drink this evening… well I was curious. Curious if a Blood Orange Manhattan would be tastier then a regular Manhattan (this seemed kinda obvious but you never know) and also I had been thinking of my Grandmother the other day and it felt like a sign. Below is the list of the ingredients that Melt used. I used a some what standard Manhattan recipe and kinda tweaked it since I do not know the exact recipe that Melt used

What you need:

Bulliet Bourbon
Gran Gala Orange liqueur
Dry Vermouth
Bitters
1 blood orange or 2 oz of blood orange juice
Maraschino Cherry

Step one: Cut blood orange in half and squeeze. You should produce about 2 oz. Pour into a cocktail shaker.
Step two: Add 1.5 oz of Bulliet Bouurbon, 1.25 oz of Gran Gala orange liqueur, .25 oz of dry vermouth, 1-2 dashes of bitters into the cocktail shaker.
Step three: Add a few ice cubes, shake, and pour.

 bottoms up baby xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

