All good things must come to an end…Goodbye 20’s Hello 30’s…

The day I graduated college I brushed my hands together and said, “well that’s the end of that chapter” a la Homer Simpson in the Homer to the Max episode of the Simpson’s. Graduation marked an ending to a period in my life that I will never be able to get back. The real world was calling. I felt full of possibilities. The future was mine. As the clock winds down on my 20’s I hesitate to say, “well that’s the end of that chapter”, but that’s exactly what it is, an end to a chapter in my life. I find my self having mixed emotions about this whole turning 3o thing. It’s incredibly sad to think that my 20’s are over. Completely over. Finished. Done. I will never have another chance to be a “20 something.” When you’re a teenager you are excited to get older. There are all these monumental ages and all this excitement and then things just kind of mellow out and then the next thing you know your 20’s are over. Let’s get something perfectly straight, it’s not that I think 30 is old or a horrible age or that my life is somehow over. It’s just like with any ending there is a sense of loss and it’s a tough pill to swallow

Earlier today I posted ” This is the last day of my 20s…just thought I’d share this bit of horrifying and glorious information with all you lovely people.”  Notice how I said horrifying and glorious. Despite the fact that a period of my life is ending, I really do look forward to what the next 10 years has in store for me. A lot has happened to me in the past 10 years. I’ve accomplished a lot. I graduated college, got my first big girl job, got our own apartment, got married, got promoted at my job, went back to school to get my masters…and that is only a sliver of what happened. I’m proud of what I have accomplished, but I still have a long road a head of me and that is incredibly exciting.

If my 20’s was indeed a chapter in my life, it would have begun, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” I’m sure my 30’s will be similar. Don’t get it twisted. I wouldn’t have changed my 20’s for the world. It may not have been perfect, but I learned A LOT and I want to keep my desire to experience different things, and learn and grow while I move through my 30’s. To continue striving for perfection.

One of the things that helped me in getting over turning 30 thing was going to see the Audry Hepburn film series at Cleveland Cinematheque. In four of those movies (Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Charade, Two for the Road & Wait Until Dark) Ms Hepburn was in her 30’s and she was absolutely gorgeous in all of them!

In less than an hour I will officially be the big 3-0. Dirty thirty. One chapter ending and one beginning. I refuse to be a cliche and mourn my birthday or feel sorry for myself. Turning 30 does not mean my life is over, in fact it’s only just begun.

Leave a Reply

