Project Restyle #1

The ladies of Red Velvet Art have come up with a fun project for this year. Project Restyle I have a list of projects a mile long that I have been wanting to get to and have put off and put off, so this project is an awesome kick in the pants for me. All of my furniture is either hand me down or picked fresh from a tree lawn. I had considered buying a new chair and almost fell over when I saw how much furniture costs these days. To be honest I like the look of vintage and retro and eclectic furniture far more than I like brand shine new.  What I like about this project is that it gives furniture and clothing and any old piece of junk, a new life. Another chance. It’s an environmentally friendly project, it’s an economic project and it really lets you use your imagination to style something unique to you. So many people have already begun to transform trash to treasure check them out over at the Flickr group. I have had fun scanning through the images. If this is something that interests you then sign up! You don’t need a blog to do this project, just an imagination. If you have a blog, feel free to advertise that you are part of the group so that this project spreads and more people get involved. You can grab some buttons and add them to your blogs side bar. elisecake over at A Beautiful Mess will be doing a weekly post of Project Restyle including posts by guest bloggers. She and her bestie Rachel from Smile and Wave will be picking their favorites and feature them on their blogs.

For my first project I to an old “white” stained ratty chair cover that goes on my chair in the kitchen (side note: the chair is a hand me down from my step moms old dinning room set) and I dyed it an Indigo. I placed a pillow for the after picture to give it some pizazz, but that’s not the pillow I typically have on that chair…That will be a project for another day. My first project wasn’t amazing or particularly difficult, but it was on my list for a while. I think the dye adds new life to the cover. Usually it gets covered in cat hair and food splats (it is the kitchen chair after all) The Indigo helps to hide that until it’s time to put it in the wash. Rasputin, my lil kittie kins, makes a guest appearance in the before picture 🙂 I took the pictures with my iphone, which in retrospect wasn’t the best idea because they aren’t the best photos in the world, but the hub was in New York with the Canon when I decided to dive into my first project so there was no waiting for the better camera so I could take a before photo. Next time I will do better 🙂 Enjoy

Leave a Reply

