Magical Potion #1

Lately I have been really into researching different herbs and alternative medicine solutions. So I decided to start a new series called ” Magical Potions.” In this series I will discuss DIY cures, teas,herbal supplements, alternative medicine solutions and products.

First up? Burdock Root.

The Burdock plant is a biennial thistle plant that belongs to the Asteraceae. It looks like this:

The root of the Burdock plant, also known as “Gobo” can be used for MANY things. The Japanese often use Burdock in stir fry. You can use it in soups, salads, teas, and tinctures. You can find the root at any Asian market. It look like this:

Burdock root is used often in Chinese medicine and has several different medicinal properties. Burdock oil can be used to treat dandruff  and prevent hair loss. You can either add a few drops to your shampoo or better yet do a hair treatment by combing the oil through your hair so that it penetrates into your scalp and wearing a shower cap.  Wait about an hour and then just shampoo out.

Lately I have been drinking the tea. Burdock is a diuretic (so make sure you drink plenty of water when using this root) and also a blood purifying agent. It helps cleanse the liver, gallbladder and kidneys and has antibacterial properties. It  is considered beneficial for the following conditions:

  • Abscesses
  • Acne
  • Age Spots
  • Aging
  • AIDS
  • Alcoholism
  • allergies
  • Arthritis
  • Backache
  • Bladder infections
  • Boils
  • Certain cancers
  • Gout
  • Hepatitis
  • Common cold
  • Sore throat
  • Endometriosis
  • Psoriasis
  • Pancreatitis
  • Sinusitis
  • Shingles
  • Rosacea
  • Sebaceous cysts
  • Cirrhosis of the liver

Of course Burdock root wont cure AIDS and while it probably wont cure Cancer either, there is research being done how it can be used in treatment of both AIDS and Cancer. It is used quite often in Russia and India in the treatment of certain Cancers.  When considering alternative medicine options, it is important that you realize that this blog or any blog for that matter, does not replace the advice of a doctor or other medical professional. If you have been diagnosed with a condition and would like to seek alternative solutions, contact your health provider.

Keeping that in mind, the best way to get the benefits from Burdock root is to ingest it either by the root itself or by boiling the root and drinking it as tea. It’s not the best tasting tea. It’s no chai tea latte from Phoenix coffee or anything but with a little honey it goes down pretty smoothly and without a wincing face. Make sure that you are getting your Burdock root from a trusted source since Deadly Nightshade can often be mistaken for Burdock. I got my Burdock root from C Jones Books & Tea, a local bookstore that has an excellent selection of loose and bag tea. Like I said before, you can buy the root at any Asian market as well.

The herbalist at C Jones Books & Tea suggested putting the Burdock root on top of a salad with some fresh ginger and garlic. She said that it gives you an amazing burst of energy. I think I might try this when the hub goes to NYC in a few weeks because I doubt I’d ever get him to try that salad.

I have been drinking the tea for about two weeks every morning. So far I have seen an improvement in my skin. I get sebaceous cysts, which is why I was researching Burdock root to begin with. I get them on my chin a week of so after waxing.  I still got one, but I applied a hot compress of the burdock root tea and it is healing up pretty fast. I am hoping that with continual use that it will make them go away completely.

I hope you found this helpful. This series will be filled with lots of DIY herbal remedies and concoctions like tinctures, tonics, toners…

I’m really excited about this series. I think will be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

