A is for the Amanda Palmer: A recipe

A few years ago when the hub, Lady Linzi and I went to the Coventry Street Fair, we stumbled upon a stand out side of the Mint Cafe. The stand was for Jasmine Limeade. We each got some and let me tell you we were in heaven! Every year since we get almost giddy at the idea of the Coventry Street Fair pretty much for that reason.

A couple of weeks ago I was thinking about the fact that it has been forever since I put a recipe on my blog and I thought a good cold beverage would be a great place to start. So I decided to try to copy the Jasmine Limeade drink that I love so much. Without an offical recipe to go off of I sort of just did some guessing and came up with a pretty good version.

So I’m sure most of you have heard of an Arnold Palmer. Once known as a Half and Half, the Arnold Palmer is a mixture of ice tea and lemonade and is named after Arnold Palmer, the famous golfer.

When I was trying to come up with a fun name for my Jasmine Limeade drink I was thinking some with an Asian feel, but I couldn’t come up with something that didn’t sound hookey or slightly racist…Then it came to me… “The Amanda Palmer” named after punk cabaret bad ass, The Dresden Dolls front-woman and Neil Gaiman’s beloved.

So why am I naming it the Amanda Palmer other than the fact that it amuses me? Well when you think about it,  it is perfect… The Jasmine element lends a feminine yet unique element and the limes lend some bitterness,but the sugar gives it just enough sweetness. The recipe is:

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar or sugar substitute

2 jasmine tea bags

1/2 cup lime juice

12 cups of water

Instructions:

Boil 7 cups of water on the stove. Put 6 cups into teapot with the two jasmine tea bags.  Let steep for 10 minutes.

Take remaining cup of hot water and pour into a bowl. Stir in 1 cup of sugar or sugar substitute. Sugar/ Sugar substitute should dissolve and completely disappear.

Pour 1/2 cup lime juice in pitcher. You can squeeze limes yourself, but honestly it is so much easier and cheaper just to but a bottle of lime juice.

Pour sugar-water & Jasmine tea into pitcher.

Pour 5 cups of cold water into pitcher.

Test to make sure that the sweetness level is where you want it to be. If it is too bitter then feel free to add more sugar/ sugar substitute.

Put in refrigerator until chilled.

Serve over ice

For an “Amanda Fucking Palmer” add vodka (amount at your descretion)…

Bottoms up!

3 thoughts on “A is for the Amanda Palmer: A recipe

  1. yummmmmy! my name is kat too! we’re one of a kind people i’ve noticed! ive been on an arnold palmer binge lately, only with firefly raspberry vodka. its delish! ill have to try this though! ill be stopping by now that ive discovered your little gem here. =) take care

    kat

  2. Pingback: CoNfEtTi FrIdAy 6/11/11-6/17/11 | The Kat's Pajamas

Leave a Reply

