Salt and Spice and everything nice…

I don’t know about you but my skin has seen better days. My legs are a dry flakey mess. Furthermore I’m feeling the blah effects of not seeing any sunlight. It’s not full on S.A.D , but I certainly could use a boost. So I did some research and came up with a great smelling spicy salt scrub that is sure to give you soft yummy skin this winter.

1 cup table salt

1/4 cup jojoba oil

1/4 cup coco butter oil

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 cup shredded ginger

1/4 cup orange rind

Why these ingredients? Table salt has a smaller grain. Larger types of salt have a harsher edge and can be too scratchy. Salt is a exfoliant to use because it had detoxifying and muscle relaxing properties. Jojoba oil is a plant oil, it is said to be similar to the oil produced by human skin. Coco butter oil smells yummy. It also provides a barrier between your skin and the harsh environment, which is ideal in the harsh winter environment. The cinnamon is good for improving circulation and smells yummy. Shredded ginger will aid in exfoliation and the smell will invigorate you. Orange rind has been known to ease minor depression. The joint power of all these ingredients will help to combat dry winter skin and  can aid in curing the winter blues. At the very least the combined scents will smell like yummy baked goods.

Mix ingredients together. Wet skin.  Rub scrub on skin (except face). The longer the better. The reason that body scrubs at spas have better results, is not the quality of ingredients, it is because they scrub you for longer. Set a kitchen timer for 10 minutes and scrub scrub scrub. Rinse off.

3 thoughts on “Salt and Spice and everything nice…

  1. Even here in Sunny Florida, my skin seems drier in the winter. Good thing I don’t live up there; I probably wouldn’t shave my legs all winter.
    I have another side effect from lack of sunlight-my doctor said I have a severe Vitamin D deficiency. Obviously not due to a lack of sun, just a lack of going out in the sun.

Leave a Reply

