25 more things to do in the fall

25 More things to do in Fall.

Here are some more ideas to make the most of your fall season…Sorry # 8 & 9 are outdated… I was a little late getting this out, but hey as they say in Cleveland “There’s always next year.”

  1. Make some warm cider- When you go to Patterson’s, or to whatever orchard you wind up at to pick apples, make sure that you pick up a gallon of their cider. Actually you can pick it up at the grocery store too, but that’s not as fun. Warm up the cider on the stove or in the microwave for a taste warming beverage. Make it even better by adding some whiskey or spiced rum. YUM.
  2.  Rearrange your furniture– When I was younger I would get bored with my room and change things up a bit. I did this at our old apartment too, but so far we have lived here for two years and I haven’t done much in the way of moving things around. I think it’s time. Pick up a book on feung shui and making your crib flow with positive energy.
  3. Eat a baked apple– So I bet you were wondering what on earth you were going to do with all of those apples that you picked. (See previous list). Well one yummy solution is baked apples. Core the apple, either using a knife or one of those neato utensils that are especially designed for cutting out the core. Place a tablespoon of brown sugar, sprinkle some cinnamon and nutmeg and bake in the oven at 350 degrees till the apple becomes soft. Or you can stick it in the microwave for a faster version.
  4. Buy new underwear– Did you know bras are only good for 6 months? It’s shocking really when you think about how much we spend on them. I bet now you’re thinking about the ones in your drawer that you’ve had since high school. Do you and your “rack” a favor and throw out your bras that poke you with wire and your underwear with the shot elastic. It’s time to move on. By the way, my guess is that you probably are not the same size since high school, so if it’s been a while since you have bought a new one. Please make sure that you get properly fitted the girls will thank you. This is also good advice for the men. No one wants to get it on with someone with dingy drawers.
  5. Invest in a DVR– When I watch TV I prefer to watch the shows I love and skip the crap. But when my favorites aren’t on I am drawn to celebrity reality TV and real life crime mystery shows. I get mesmerized and I can’t pull my self away. But just because I like to watch them doesn’t mean I should. I mean, I can’t think of a bigger waste of my time then sitting around watching celebrities living their lives (except when I catch myself watching reruns of those shows! Ick.) Forget Penicillin! The best invention ever made was the DVR. A box that magically lets me record my favorite shows and lets me fast forward through the commercials? Sign me up! Which is exactly what I have done and it is exactly what I suggest you do. That way you can go out and do some of the things on this list instead of watching others do them on TV.
  6. Attend a live performance– Opera, dance, theatre or the symphony. Whatever your cup of tea is go buy a ticket and get inspired by what you see. There are tons of live performances to go in Cleveland and because of the economy these places have created bargain days and have discounted tickets to draw in the crowds. Take advantage of it.
  7. Meet your friend for coffee– Sometimes it’s just nice to meet a friend for coffee and sit and listen to their problems and share your own, while drinking a nice hot beverage in a warm coffee house, while the rest of the world hurries busily outside.
  8. Make a Halloween Costume– Sure you could spend your money on a costume and go as the sexy witch or slutty pirate, like every other girl out there on the planet, but where is the fun in that? Use your imagination and some limited sewing skills to create a Halloween costume.
  9. Go to a haunted house– More importantly go and allow yourself to be scared.
  10. Eat candy corn– my bestie thinks I’m crazy because I bite off the orange and yellow part and chuck the white part… what can I say? At the time I didn’t like the white part.  Now it’s just kind of tradition.
  11. Jump in someone’s leaf pile– Get in touch with your inner child and leap with great abandon into the nearest pile of leaves.
  12. Play cards– If the bitter fall air is just too much to bare, then stay inside and play cards and gossip.
  13. Watch old school Saturday morning cartoons-I love waking up on Saturday morning and watching Scooby Doo and Spider Man
  14. Spend the day at the library– Go through the stack of books find recipes or inspiration or indulge in fantasy lands or get wrapped up in a mystery. When I was in college I used to go to the library and get lost in the stacks for hours. I’d sit on the floor and read plays. Thats how I first read Cowboy Mouth by Sam Shepard.
  15. Join a knitting or crocheting group– If you’re a novice, joining a group is the best way to improve your skills. You can get one on one instruction from people who have been doing it for a while.
  16. Make pumpkin cranberry muffins– I love everything pumpkin. That could be why Fall is my favorite season. Check out my recipe on my blog http://www.kittenkaboom.wordpress.com. Yummy.
  17. Go to a thrift store- and buy your whole fall wardrobe for $20.00!
  18. Create a life map– Write down a few lists. 1) Who inspires you. 2) What isn’t working in your life. 3) Goals you would like to accomplish in your life (or at least within the next year). Use these lists to help guide you in the direction of your dreams.
  19. Go to a poetry slam– If you’re not a poet, don’t fret. You don’t have to go to a poetry slam just to perform. You can go and listen, you’d probably be shocked at how much talent there is in your town.
  20. Wear a beret– Here is were I plead my case for why the beret is an essential wardrobe piece. It is the best way to camouflage a bad hair day. My husband doesn’t drive. So on the weekend, if he is scheduled to work I have to wake up with him to take him. Let me tell you, there have been many a Saturday that I have woken up rolled out of bed threw on some clothes and stuck my hair in a beret. They are life savers! So buy a beret and wear it. Who knows maybe you will inspire a song or start a revolution. (You get extra points if you can tell me the two things I just referenced).
  21. Buy new sheets– As you have probably noticed by now, most of the things on this list are about nesting (out with the old, in with the new and preparing for the cold months ahead.) Buying new sheets is the ultimate in nesting. Plus, Heather Locklear has been quoted saying that the secret to her youthful complexion is “soft sheets.” So go out and purchase some soft warm sheets for the blistery months ahead.
  22. Buy new makeup– Make up needs to be replaced. Not just when it runs out. Most make up has a shelf life. Mascara should be replaced every 4 months; lipstick every 3 years; Foundation and concealer up to 1 year; Eye shadow 3 years; Eyeliner 3 years; and nail polish 1 year. Go through your collection and pitch what needs to be pitched and then go shopping. Experiment. Pick shades that you’ve never tried. Have fun.
  23. Keep daily outfit log– Take photos of your daily outfits. Write down what you are wearing and where you bought it. Then post the results on your blog. This is just for fun. Not to be taken too seriously, but if you need to justify doing it, you can always tell yourself that you are doing it to see which of your clothes you wear and which ones never get worn so that when it comes to cleaning out your closet, you’ll know which ones to give away. Though I’m pretty sure this is just an exercise in narcissism. But is it really any different then keeping a written journal or blog?
  24. Designate a movie night – I came up with this one a couple weeks ago when I went to the Cedar Lee to see 500 Days of Summer. It was a bargain Monday. All movies were 5 bucks. I decided that I would try and go every or every other week to see a movie at cedar lee since I finally don’t have class Monday night. It’s probably not realistic for everyone to go to the movies every week (probably not for me either). So if you can’t go to the movies have the movies come to you. Red Box and Netflix are perfect for this! So pick a night of the week where you can sit in front of the TV and watch a movie and work your way through your massive list of movies you’ve been waiting to see.
  25. Make a new friend– This can be hard, but very rewarding. You never know who you might meet.

2 thoughts on “25 more things to do in the fall

  1. P.S. – I’ve been looking for a new set of sheets. Can’t find soft sheets in color that matches my room. Definitely worth the price for higher thread count.

Leave a Reply

