25 Things to Do in the Fall…

334391__MG_7899

As seen in Messy Magazine

 While most people feel that New Years is the best time to change or make resolutions, I don’t. I have always felt that Fall is the perfect time of year to start something new. Maybe it’s left over from years of school? As I’ve gotten older summer has lost some of the pizzazz that it once had, but Fall still feels like a time for personal reflection and growth. Here are some ideas to make the most of the fall season.

  1. Make Pumpkin Pie– One fall day last year I was feeling down in the dumps. My mom suggested baking to put me in a better mood. It worked.  I made a pumpkin pie for the first time. Here is why you should make a pumpkin pie. 1) They taste delicious. 2) They are good for you! Pumpkin is high in fiber. Just remember they are also high in sugar, so indulge in moderation. 3) They are super easy to make. 4) They are the epitome of fall.
  2. Buy a “leather” Jacket– Brand new, Vintage or faux, whatever you prefer pick up a leather jacket in whatever style and color you prefer and then for heck of it, put on the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s song Zero and dance around your apartment/house. Then go out and do of the things on this list.
  3. Decorate a note book– I’m in school, grad school, getting my Masters in Arts Administration. So, because I am in school I need to buy notebooks and binders etc. I like to glue inspiring pictures and words on my note books so in the likely event the professor bores me out of mind, I can go off into my Pisces fantasy file looking at my binder/notebook. Even if you aren’t in school you should buy a notebook and decorate it. You can begin a journal of your shenanigans.
  4. Brew your own beer– My husband and I have wanted to do this for a while. I got inspired to finally do it this fall after a trip to Vermont for my cousin’s wedding. We accidentally stumbled upon The Magic Hat Brewing Company which was down the street (literally) from our hotel. We went on a tour of the microbrew and it was pretty fun. Check out a book from the library or look up a recipe online and have fun!
  5. Learn a foreign language– Since I have a loooooong commute to Akron for school, I have decided that I will finally fulfill my desire to learn French. What does my commute have to do with learning French you ask? I will be learning French via cd! It’s a multitaskers wet dream.
  6. Go on a hike– Fall is my favorite time of the year. The air is crisp and the leaves are beautiful. It’s the perfect time of the year to be in the outdoors. If you’re lucky enough to live in Cleveland, then take this opportunity to explore the Metroparks. And don’t forget to bring a camera to capture your surroundings.
  7. Go to a Flea Market– I love thrift stores and garage sales, but my favorite by far would have to be Flea Markets. I have found some of my favorite treasures from flea markets. Even if you don’t buy a thing, it’s still a great place to browse.
  8. Change your hair style– Like I said before fall is the best time to make a change. Color? Cut? The works? Change your hairstyle and create a new self image.
  9. Create a trend- Don’t wait to be inspired, use your imagination to inspire others. Maybe you decide not to swear, wear your tie as a head band or wear animal noses (my husband has dibs on that one).
  10. Become an expert in something – I had a professor in college who became the foremost authority on Cirque du Soleil in the United States. She didn’t even know it until one day she got a phone call asking to interview her because she was “the foremost authority on Cirque du Soleil.” How cool is that! If you take at least 10 minutes out of your day to keep updated and informed about a subject that interests you, you too can be an expert. Or so the experts say.
  11. Make a quilt– When the temp drops and snow falls you’re going to need something to keep you warm and cozy.
  12. Make soup- Soup is easy to make and the perfect meal on a crisp fall day. Make loads of it and you can freeze it for a quick hardy meal on a different crisp fall day.
  13. Have a horror movie marathon– I am really an advocate of doing this any time of year, but the Halloween season seems most appropriate.
  14. Carve a pumpkin– This Halloween tradition isn’t just for the kiddies. Pick out a pumpkin, cut out the top and put your hands in the pumpkin guts. Then hack away at it and create a jack-o-lantern master piece.
  15. Roast pumpkin seedsTake the pumpkin guts and separate the seeds from the gunk and places them on a baking sheets that has been previously sprayed with cooking spray. Sprinkle seeds with sea salt and bake in the oven until seeds become crunchy, but not brown.
  16. Make Plum Brandy– Tons of recipes online, check them out.  All you need are three ingredients. Plums, Whiskey, and sugar. The best part is you can use cheap whiskey because you will let it sit and ferment for a couple months.
  17. Change your workout routine– You may think that because Fall is time to cover up that your workout can take a back seat, but if you stop to care about your workout then when you take off the parka, you just maybe be horrified at what is underneath. Don’t wait till the frost has thawed to get bathing suit ready. One way to make sure that you stick with your workout is to change things up. Take a yoga or Pilate’s class. Take up jogging. Use a hula hoop to get those abs you always wanted… Hell dance around your apartment naked every morning. Do whatever you need to do to keep things exciting.
  18. Find your signature scent– Coco Chanel once said, “A woman who does not wear perfume has no future.” This may or may not be true, after all Ms. Chanel did make perfume for a living, but I do agree that there is something slightly transforming about wearing perfume. Marilyn and Liz wore Chanel # 5, Audrey wore Spring Flower by Creed and L’Interdit by Sure these ladies were memorable for other reasons then perfume, but the point is that they had a scent they were loyal to and they are icons. So choose your signature scent and become an icon, even if it’s in your own mind.
  19. Paint a landscape– Take your canvas and paint and head outside to create a master piece full of beautiful jewel toned colors.
  20. Head to the Zoo-spend a day at the zoo hanging with the monkeys. If you live in Cleveland, then be sure to check out the animatronic dinosaurs on display at the Cleveland Metropark Zoo.
  21. Go horseback riding- I haven’t been horseback riding in years, but doesn’t it sound like the perfect thing to do in the fall?
  22. Join a book club- The art of discussion is dead. At least one on one face to face discussion. Join a book club and get your mind working.
  23. Go to a gallery opening- Gallery openings can be the best places to get inspired. They are usually on Fridays and usually early in the evening so even if you decide that it isn’t your idea of a good time, you won’t have wasted an entire evening. Plus free wine, sometimes beer and food!
  24. Go apple picking– Go to a local orchard and pick some apples. Patterson’s farm is one of my favorite places to do this. Please note: it is a very bad idea to go when you are hung over. I, unfortunately, know from experience.
  25. Go on a hay ride- When I went to the Great Lakes Medieval Faire this summer I came across a sign for a haunted hay ride. I repeat a HAUNTED HAY RIDE. How awesome does that sound? If a haunted hay ride doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, you are in luck because Patterson’s fruit farm offers hay rides of the un-haunted variety.

275641929_e17b157933

25 More Things to Do in the Fall will coming soon.

2 thoughts on “25 Things to Do in the Fall…

  1. I’m usually really good about linking my photos from where I found them. I’m sure I found it on WeHeartIt.com which is an awesome source for inspirational photos found on the interwebz. As to it’s original origin I am unsure. Like I said I normally link to it, but there is not a link and since it was forever ago I don’t know for sure. It’s a great photo. My guess is that some of teh color are enhanced by photo shop though. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful!

Leave a Reply

