Martini Monday: Ginger Snap Martini

This blog is starting to look like 1. the way it looked when all I would do is post CoNfEtTi FrIdAys and 2. Like I drink an awful lot, which is really not the case.  I really need to learn to blog more during the week. But I digress. It’s monday once again and it would be bad form to miss a Martini Monday this soon in  the game. So here I am at 11:15pm trying desperately to get this post posted before midnight… I will probably fail. As my ginger snap syrup is cooling in the freezer ( to speed up the process) let me tell you what you will need to make one of these festive drinks.

You will need:

brown sugar water

cinnamon

nutmeg

ginger

all spice

ground cloves

pear or orange vodka I used pear, but I imagine orange would be good as well.

Amaretto

To make the gingersnap syrup:

Step One: Put 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup water in a pan and bring to a boil a boil, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Once sugar is dissolved lower heat so that syrup is a simmer

Step Two: While the syrup is simmering add a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, all spice and ground clove. I actually used pumpkin spice which contains all of these except the ground clove and then I just added my own ground clove. A few dashes is all ya need. Stir for a minute or two. Then remove from heat and allow to cool to room temp.

To make the martini

Step Three: In a martini shaker add 1 part  pear  or orange vodka, 1/2 part Amaretto, 1 part ginger snap syrup and ice cubes. Pour and enjoy! I did not garnish in the interest of time, but you could garnish using a cinnamon sugar rim, a crushed ginger snap rim or a slice of crystallized ginger.

bottoms up baby! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

